Board of Trustees


Ruth Marcus, Chair

Wilentz, Goldman & Spitzer


Michael David Lichtenstein, Vice President/Treasurer

Lowenstein Sandler LLP


Danielle Torok, Secretary

KIPP New Jersey


Louisa Hackett

Community Resource Exchange


Rupal Shah



Tikesha James

Essex County VOICES Chapter


William Waldman*

Rutgers School of Social Work



Executive Director, Essex County Family Justice Center

* Emeritus

** Non-voting Trustee

Administrative Staff


Mary Houtsma, CSW, DVS

Executive Director

973-230-7229 x.203



Carolyn Picciani, MPA

Director of Grant Administration and Communication

973-230-7229 x.217



ESSEX COUNTY FAMILY JUSTICE CENTER  Leroy F. Smith Jr. Public Safety Building, 60 Nelson Place, 2nd Floor, Newark, NJ 07102, 973-230-7229

Services available Monday through Friday 8:30am-4:30pm NO APPOINTMENT NECESSARY

Easily accessible via public transportation. Click here for directions to the center.

Please use a computer at a safe location. There is always a computer trail.

If you are in danger, call 911 or the U.S. National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-7233 TTY 1-800-787-3224

Join our mailing list